Languages

How social sculptures are changing the cities

How social sculptures are changing the cities

Artists (or at least some of them) are leaving the realm of autonomous art where they may be able to achieve radical self-expression, but cannot engage directly with reality in its extremes. For the interventionists, this isn’t enough. They are out to improve the world: accomplices of the good life orchestrating unbidden moments in urban spaces.
How the conceptualisation of public affairs is changing

How the conceptualisation of public affairs is changing

A city can no longer be governed “from the top down”. Municipal policy is now far more characterised by a complex mesh of compromise and cooperation between politics/administration, business and civil society groups. Orderly civic participation and processes suffer repeated “disturbance” due to unpredicted protests, civil initiatives and spontaneous outbursts of indignation. This both confuses procedures and brings into question formalised participation.In either case, information and communication technologies act as important agencies and amplifiers for developments. But do they also contribute something to those...
How municipal institutions and their functions are changing

How municipal institutions and their functions are changing

Until very recently, urban culture has been determined by buildings and institutions: museums, theatres, concert halls, libraries, academies/universities and socio-cultural centres as well as palaces, parks and churches: all are witnesses to our cultural heritage.Set in stone, the representation as well as the functional responsibility of these outdated institutions are mixed up by the information and network society, then either rejected or re-evaluated. In the informational city, “old” education and cultural institutions such as libraries reflect with particular clarity the structural changes...
How lifestyles and participation in public life are changing

How lifestyles and participation in public life are changing

On-going issues of climate change and ecological urban restructuring are also bringing urban living environments into question.Behavioural changes are necessary and are being tested through neighbourhood projects, integrated mobility concepts and connections between living, work and leisure.New communities of responsibility are emerging which are supported, facilitated and inspired by information and communication technologies. This process is redefining the relationship (which characterises European cities) between public and private life.
How digital technologies are changing the perception of the city

How digital technologies are changing the perception of the city

Initially, today’s conceptualisations, technologies and visualisations of a modern “mapping of the city” will be presented. The conceptualisations include web-based mapping projects (e.g. Google Mashups), projects centring on resident participation and agitation with the help of location-based services and interventionist artwork. The (continual) mapping combined with aesthetic, interactive-dynamic visualisation and the provision of urban data (flows) represents an important basis for discussion and decision-making processes in the city.
NEWS
Potsdam Congress Award for 'City of Flows'

Potsdam Congress Award for ‘City of Flows’

Our conference has been awarded the Potsdamer Kongresspreis - special mention for an event with interdisciplinary focus. We had a severe competition this year but we won! This is great news and a confirmation for our endeavor. (cf. Mediainformation of University of Applied Sciences)  
Talks

Talks

Saskia Sassen // THE GLOBAL STREET VS. THE PIAZZA. Till Nagel // MAPPING THE URBAN NOW Hanne Seitz // COMMENT: “Am I really here or is it only Art” (Laurie Anderson) Fabian Kessl // SO MUCH FOR A SPACE OF FREEDOM: AFTER THE PROJECT IS BEFORE THE PROJECT! Stefan M. Seydel / Tina Piazzi //...

Many Thanks!

We would like to thank all speakers, participants and guests for coming and hope you spent  inspiring days in Potsdam and have returned home with good impressions.
Vegetarian Cuisine Campaign  // Culinary Misfits @ City of Flows

Vegetarian Cuisine Campaign // Culinary Misfits @ City of Flows

Bent cucumbers, carrots with three legs and lumpy potatoes: anything that isn’t perfect never makes it to the plate, and certainly not the super market shelf. Every day, 30-40% of produce harvested lands in the bin. We, that is Tanja Krakowski and Lea Brumsack, want to change this and give the food misfits a chance....

Interview with Hermann Voesgen

Herr Prof. Dr. Voesgen, what changes are taking place in the relationship between the physical city and its inhabitants, i.e. the relationship between body and city? HV: New technologies are bringing about major changes to the relationship between us and our physically constructed environment. It began with the Walkman and the ability to create one’s...
Christian Derix / Aedas, London

Christian Derix / Aedas, London

STREETWISE: MAPPING SPATIAL CONFIGURATIONS AND USER BEHAVIOURS FOR URBAN DESIGN. While most new technologies are being employed to support sustainability with the aim of visualizing and saving energy consumption, little attention is given to designing inherently sustainable structures of urban space, which afford socially, culturally and energetically good usage and occupation. The Computational Design Research...
Saskia Sassen / Columbia University, New York

Saskia Sassen / Columbia University, New York

THE GLOBAL STREET VS. THE PIAZZA. The aim is to open up a larger conceptual field to understand the complex interactions between power and powerlessness as they get shaped in urban space. I argue that the city makes visible the limits of superior military power and, most importantly, that cities enable powerlessness to become complex,...
Jason Dykes / giCentre / City University London

Jason Dykes / giCentre / City University London

GO WITH THE FLOW OR MAP TO KNOW? – SOME THOUGHTS AND IDEAS ON FLOW MAP DESIGN. This talk will identify some of the design conflicts that arise when mapping flows, consider various possibilities solutions and evaluate some potential designs in which these are used. It will do so by focusing on some of the...
Hermann Voesgen / City Climate Innovation Institute, Potsdam

Hermann Voesgen / City Climate Innovation Institute, Potsdam

THE RITUAL OF PARTICIPATION – THE THRILL OF BREAKING OUT IN PROTEST. CAN PARTICIPATION BE SMART? Smart technologies do not just change the infrastructure of cities, but also the lifestyles experienced within them. In the modern era, the “automobile-dependent city” is characterised by the relationship between public and private spaces, the connections and/or disconnections between...
Birgit Katharine Seemann / Department for Culture and Museum, Potsdam

Birgit Katharine Seemann / Department for Culture and Museum, Potsdam

THE CITY AS A STAGE. Many European cities are drifting away from each other. Fragmentation and internal divides are eroding cities’ power to integrate. This trend is associated with a degree of alienation on the part of residents from their city, their urban space. Interventionist initiatives – performances, flash mobs, video strolls, open air installations...
Nathalie Vallet / University of Antwerp

Nathalie Vallet / University of Antwerp

INFORMATIONAL CITIES AND CITY INNOVATION: (RE)DEFINING THE STRATEGIC FOOTPRINT OF PUBLIC LIBRARIES On the basis of an explorative case-study research, we describe and typify the (changing) strategic role of 9 public libraries within the urban networks aiming for the future development and innovation of Flemish and Dutch cities. Although the City of Flows (Manuel Castells)...
Knud Schulz / Urban Mediaspace Aarhus

Knud Schulz / Urban Mediaspace Aarhus

THE LIBRARY AS UNITING FACTOR IN A SOCIETY OF CHANGE. The Modern Library has changed from a book container to a space that reflects and supports the needs of the citizens. The building offers opportunity to add a new story about community building and knowledge sharing to the city history. The Library space is an...
Hanne Seitz / University of Applied Sciences Potsdam

Hanne Seitz / University of Applied Sciences Potsdam

Prof. Dr., Dipl. Päd., holds a doctoral degree in art pedagogy; studied in Frankfurt/Main and Darmstadt, extensive freelance activity in the art field, lecturer for training and further studies, colleague at the University of Frankfurt am Main’s Institute for Art Education; since 1994 professor at University of Applied Sciences Potsdam teaching the theory and practice...
Hans-Christoph Hobohm / City Climate Innovation Institute, Potsdam

Hans-Christoph Hobohm / City Climate Innovation Institute, Potsdam

THE BERLIN/POTSDAM REGION AS AN “INFORMATIONAL CITY” The lecture explores the extent to which the Berlin/Potsdam region can be viewed as an “informational city”. To this end, the cities of Singapore and Melbourne will be used for comparative purposes and the classic indicators of the “informational city” explained. In terms of its political and economic...
Michal Migurski / Stamen Design, San Francisco

Michal Migurski / Stamen Design, San Francisco

MAKING IT PUBLIC. VISUALIZING URBAN DATA. Michael Migurski likes to explore the act of maintaining flow “from below”, and the actors and tasks whose continued participation supports it. Viewed from a great distance, our work as data visualizers appears to be riding a smooth current of urban information. Viewed up close, that current is made...
Michael Daxner

Michael Daxner

Prof. Dr Dr h.c.; has diverse academic and political advisory positions behind him. After studying English, pedagogy, philosophy, social sciences and history in Vienna and Freiburg, he wrote his dissertation on Ernst Bloch in 1972 while working as a civil servant at the Austrian Federal Ministry for Science and Research in Vienna. In 1974 he...
Peter Conradie / University of Applied Sciences Rotterdam

Peter Conradie / University of Applied Sciences Rotterdam

TRUST THY NEIGHBOUR: USING ICT TO FACILITATE TRUST GENERATION IN URBAN NEIGHBOURHOODS. With an increased urban density and anonimization, new methods of interacting with neighbours are emerging. ICT can play an important role in establishing such new social ties and forms of collaboration. However, these technical innovations rely on the establishment of trust, making cooperation...
Birgit Schönberger

Birgit Schönberger

Holds a Master’s degree in political science and romance languages, is active as a freelance journalist and coach with her own practice in Berlin. Birgit Schönberger works as a feature author and commentator for Germany’s ARD radio station and writes on her specialist subjects of psychology, personality development and life philosophy for major magazines. Link...
Fabian Kessl / Duisburg-Essen University

Fabian Kessl / Duisburg-Essen University

SO MUCH FOR A SPACE OF FREEDOM: AFTER THE PROJECT IS BEFORE THE PROJECT! ON THE POLITICAL DYNAMICS OF SOCIO-SPATIAL SUPPORT INITIATIVES. Manuell Castells’ networked society can now be found – at least semantically – at the local level, embodying an ideal of today’s community social policy and urban development: active neighbourhoods and local district-based...
Jutta M. Bott / City Climate Innovation Institute, Potsdam

Jutta M. Bott / City Climate Innovation Institute, Potsdam

THE PAIN AND PLEASURE OF RESPONSIBILITY AND CONTINUITY – OR HOW MODERN IS THE HUMAN BEING IN SELF-SELECTED COMMUNITIES? In a digitally-determined world, we expect information to be available quickly whenever it is required; we demand a range of options for getting together with others and a high degree of flexibility in all aspects of...
Stefan M. Seydel / dfdu.org

Stefan M. Seydel / dfdu.org

FORM OF UNREST. INTERNET AS A CITY. The internet as a space in which nothing can be understood, and nothing can be shown.   Stefan M. Seydel holds a Swiss Diplom degree in architectural draftsmanship and Swiss Diplom and MA degrees in social work (from the Berliner Zentrum für postgraduale Studien Sozialer Arbeit, ‘Berlin Centre...
Tina Piazzi / dfdu.org

Tina Piazzi / dfdu.org

FORM OF UNREST. INTERNET AS A CITY. The internet as a space in which nothing can be understood, and nothing can be shown.   Tina Piazzi holds Swiss Diplom degrees as a care specialist and social worker, has paralegal training and holds a Master of Science in Clinical Supervision and Coaching from the University of...
Erik Boekesteijn / DOK Library Concept Center, Delft

Erik Boekesteijn / DOK Library Concept Center, Delft

Erik Boekesteijn works in DOKLAB, the Science and Innovation Department at DOK, the Library Concept Center in Delft, the Netherlands (http://www.doklab.nl ). His work includes project management, acquisition, marketing, promotion, and innovation. He works with Jaap van der Geer on many DOK Studio productions, and they are also hired as a team by other libraries...
Till Nagel / University of Applied Sciences Potsdam

Till Nagel / University of Applied Sciences Potsdam

MAPPING THE URBAN NOW. In recent years more and more data about the city is digitally collected. This data from sources such as mobile phones, sensors, and location-based services can be visualized to reflect urban activity. Geovisualization stimulates the visual analysis of spatial patterns, relationships, and trends, as well as enables interactive exploration and understanding...

Sprachen

Wie sich die Wahrnehmung der Stadt durch die digitalen Technologien verändert.

Wie sich die Wahrnehmung der Stadt durch die digitalen Technologien verändert.

In einem ersten Schritt werden aktuelle Konzepte, Technologien und Visualisierungen einer modernen “Stadtkartographie” vorgestellt. Die Konzepte umfassen u.a. webbasierte Mapping-Projekte (z. B. Google Mashups), Projekte zur Bürgerbeteiligung und -agitation mit Hilfe ortsbezogener Services (Location-Based Services) sowie künstlerische, intervenierende Arbeiten. Die (kontinuierliche) Kartierung, ästhetische, interaktiv-dynamische Visualisierung und Bereitstellung urbaner Daten(ströme) ist eine wichtige Basis für Diskussions- und Entscheidungsprozesse in der Stadt.
Wie sich die Lebensweisen und die Beteiligung an den öffentlichen Angelegenheiten verändern.

Wie sich die Lebensweisen und die Beteiligung an den öffentlichen Angelegenheiten verändern.

Vor dem Hintergrund des Klimawandels und des ökologischen Stadtumbaus stehen auch die urbanen Lebensweisen zur Diskussion. Verhaltensänderungen sind notwendig und werden in Nachbarschaftsprojekten, integrierten Mobilitätskonzepten, Verbindungen von Wohnen, Arbeit und Freizeit erprobt. Es entstehen neue Verantwortungsgsgemeinschaften, die durch Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien unterstützt, gefördert und inspiriert werden. Dabei wird auch das (für die europäische Stadt konstitutive) Verhältnis zwischen öffentlichem und privaten Leben neu justiert.
Wie sich die städtischen Einrichtungen und deren Funktionen ändern.

Wie sich die städtischen Einrichtungen und deren Funktionen ändern.

Gebäude und Institutionen prägten bis in die jüngste Zeit die Stadtkultur: Museen Theater, Konzerthäuser, Bibliotheken, Akademien/Hochschulen, Soziokulturelle Zentren, sowie die Paläste, Parks und Kirchen als Zeugnisse des kulturellen Erbes. Die versteinerte Repräsentanz und funktionale Zuständigkeit der überkommenen Institutionen wird in der Informations- und Netzwerkgesellschaft aufgemischt, verworfen oder umgewertet. In der informationellen Stadt reflektieren „alte“ Bildungs- und Kulturinstitutionen wie Bibliotheken besonders deutlich die Strukturänderungen der Digitalen Gesellschaft.
Wie sich die Gestaltung der öffentlichen Angelegenheiten verändert.

Wie sich die Gestaltung der öffentlichen Angelegenheiten verändert.

Von „oben nach unten“ lässt sich eine Stadt nicht mehr regieren. Vielmehr ist Stadtpolitik von einem komplexen Geflecht von Kompromissen und Kooperationen zwischen Politik/Verwaltung, Wirtschaft und zivilgesellschaftlichen Gruppen geprägt. Die geordneten Bürgerbeteiligungen und Verfahren werden immer wieder „gestört“ durch unvorhergesehene Proteste, Bürgerinitiativen und spontane Empörungen. Sie bringen die Abläufe durcheinander und stellen die formalisierte Partizipation in Frage. Die Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien sind in beiden Fällen wesentliche Träger und Verstärker von Entwicklungen. Tragen sie auch zu Schnittflächen zwischen Empörung und Partizipation...
Wie soziale Skulpturen die Städte verändern.

Wie soziale Skulpturen die Städte verändern.

Die Künstler (zumindest einige) verlassen die Räume der autonomen Kunst, in denen sich Künstler radikal aber ohne direkte Reibung mit den Grenzen der Gegebenheiten äußern können. Die Interventionisten begnügen sich nicht damit. Sie sind Weltverbesserer und Komplizen des guten Lebens und kreieren unbedingte Augenblicken in Stadträumen.
NEWS
Potsdamer Kongresspreis 2013 !!

Potsdamer Kongresspreis 2013 !!

Unsere Tagung erhält den Sonderpreis des Potsdamer Kongresspreises für eine interdisziplinäre Veranstaltung. Das ist eine wunderbare Auszeichnung für unser spannendes Projekt! (vgl. Pressemeldung der Fachhochschule)
Talks

Talks

Saskia Sassen // THE GLOBAL STREET VS. THE PIAZZA Fabian Kessl // VON WEGEN RAUM DER FREIHEIT: NACH DEM PROJEKT IST VOR DEM PROJEKT! Hanne Seitz // KOMMENTAR: WIE SOZIALE SKULPTUREN DIE STÄDTE VERÄNDERN Stefan M. Seydel / Tina Piazzi // DIE FORM DER UNRUHE. DAS INTERNET ALS STADT. Till Nagel // MAPPING THE URBAN...

Vielen Dank!

Wir bedanken uns bei allen Referentinnen, Referenten, Gästen und Tagungspartnern für die spannende Tagung und das ausgezeichnete kulinarische Angebot, ermöglicht durch unsere Sachsponsoren: Teekampagne, RatioDrink, Braumanufaktur Forsthaus Templin, Neumanns Erntegarten, Brodowin und Märkisch Landbrot!

Online Anmeldung geschlossen

Anmeldungen sind nun nur noch vor Ort im Hans Otto Theater möglich. Bis dann!

Wie schwarz sehen Sie?

Ein partizipatorisches Projekt des Department öffentliche Erscheinungen im Rahmen des „Syntopischen Salons“   Krise überall?! Abstrakt und konkret, in der Finanzwelt, in der Wirtschaft und im Privatleben. In den Medien wird über die Krise berichtet, es wird viel und überall diskutiert, aber was denken die Menschen und wie schätzen sie ihre persönliche Situation ein? Wie...

Die Rätsel der Schiffbauergasse

Hörbar machen, was nicht sichtbar ist: Eine Projektgruppe von acht KulturarbeiterInnen der Fh Potsdam hat es sich zum Ziel gemacht, das Gelände der Schiffbauergasse zum Sprechen zu bringen. Unter Anleitung der Künstlergruppe LIGNA erstellen die Studenten Audiominiaturen, die im Rahmen der Tagung am 13 Juli erstmals präsentiert werden. In einer bunten Mischung verarbeiten die KulturarbeiterInnen...

Interview mit Justus Pilgrim / Pirat

Was sind die Visionen der Piraten für die zukünftige digitale Stadt? JP:    “Digitale Stadt” heißt für uns die Nutzung von Information und Kommunikation mit Unterstützung digitaler Medien. Damit verbunden sind Überwindung von räumlicher Distanz und Asynchrontität. Es gibt bei den Piraten kein fertiges Konzept, wie eine zukünftige digitale Stadt aussehen soll – ja noch nicht...
Vegetarische Aktionsküche // Culinary Misfits @ Stadt der Ströme

Vegetarische Aktionsküche // Culinary Misfits @ Stadt der Ströme

Krumme Gurken, Karotten mit drei Beinen und knollige Kartoffeln: Was nicht perfekt ist, kommt nicht auf den Teller und schon gar nicht in das Supermarktregal. 30-40% der Ernte landen täglich im Müll. Wir, das sind Tanja Krakowski und Lea Brumsack, wollen das ändern und geben den Misfits unter den Lebensmitteln eine Chance. Was bisher einsam...

Gedanken zu Häckern, Immobilienhaien und Piraten

UMDENKEN, OBEN Ob Stuttgart 21, Occupy oder Wikileaks, Formen des Widerstands, des Protests und der Partizipation haben sich in den letzten Jahren verändert, und das drastisch und ohne Rücksicht auf die Schwerfälligkeit unserer analogen Ordnungen. Die nationalen Institutionen als strukturierende Basis, können sich nur schwer der Geschwindigkeit der Informationsgesellschaft und der Unkonventionalität ihrer Mittel anpassen....

Liquid Democracy

Gedanken zu einem neuen Modell gesellschaftlicher Teilhabe Kürzlich erschienen in der Zeit (12/22 und 12/24) zwei Stellungsnahmen zu dem Konzept der Piraten-Partei: Liquid Democracy (LD) Fließende Demokratie heißt: Mitbestimmung und Mitbeteiligung für jeden. Die Intensität der Beteiligung obliegt dabei jedem Einzelnen. Aus einem Eintrag des Vereins „ Interaktive Demokratie e.V. eine Beschreibung des Prinzips: Da...

Gespräch mit Hermann Voesgen

Stadt der Ströme // Hermann Voesgen on Vimeo.

Gespräch mit Jutta M. Bott

Stadt der Stroeme // Jutta M. Bott on Vimeo.

Interview mit Hermann Voesgen

Herr Prof. Dr. Voesgen, wie verändert sich das Verhältnis zwischen der gebauten Stadt und den Bewohnern,  also das Verhältnis von Körper und Stadt? HV:    Unser Verhältnis zu der baulich-räumlichen Umwelt wird massiv durch neue Technologien verändert. Es begann mit dem Walkman und der Möglichkeit seinen eigenen persönlichen Hörraum zu entwickeln. Der Hörraum jedes Walkmanhörers ist...

Gespräch mit Hans-Christoph Hobohm

Stadt der Ströme // Hans-Christoph Hobohm on Vimeo.

Leben 2.0 – Ernährung

WIE VERÄNDERN SMARTKONZEPTE UNSERE EINKAUFS- BZW. ERNÄHRUNGSGEWOHNHEITEN? Anknüpfend an den vorherigen Text über veränderte Wohn- und Lebensraumkonzepte stellt sich nicht nur die Frage nach einer lokalen Gestaltung von Kapitalkreisläufen, sondern ebenfalls die Frage nach regionalen Formen der Ernährung. In vielen Köpfen schwirrt noch der Gedanke, es gäbe nicht genug Essen auf dieser Welt. „Essensknappheit!? Falsch...

Leben 2.0 – Wohn- und Lebenskonzepte

ALT BEWÄHRT UND NEU GEDACHT … An vielen Stellen in Potsdam finden sich im Moment Aufkleber mit der Aufschrift: „Mietenstopp Jetzt.“ Gemeint ist hiermit die Demonstration, die unter dem Motto „Mietenstopp jetzt!“ am Samstag, den 2. Juni, um 13.00 Uhr in Potsdam stattfindet. Die Mieten steigen schnell und für einen Großteil an Mieterinnen und Mieter...
Christian Derix / Aedas, London

Christian Derix / Aedas, London

STREETWISE: MAPPING SPATIAL CONFIGURATIONS AND USER BEHAVIOURS FOR URBAN DESIGN. Während meistens die neuen Technologien zur Visualisierung und Reduzierung des Energieverbrauchs für nachhaltige Entwicklung eingesetzt werden, wird der Frage weniger Aufmerksamkeit gewidmet, wie der Stadtraum zu strukturieren ist im Hinblick auf inhärent nachhaltige Strukturen, die sozial-, kultur- und energiegerechte Nutzung des Stadtraums bedingen. Schwerpunkt der...
Saskia Sassen / Columbia University, New York

Saskia Sassen / Columbia University, New York

THE GLOBAL STREET VS. THE PIAZZA. Durch Erweiterung des vorhandenen konzeptionellen Rahmens soll in dem Vortrag das Verständnis für die komplexen Zusammenhänge zwischen Macht und Machtlosigkeit und deren Bestimmung im urbanen Raum thematisiert werden. Mein Standpunkt ist, dass die Stadt die Grenzen der militärischen Macht sichtbar werden lässt und, was noch wichtiger ist, der Machtlosigkeit...
Hermann Voesgen / Innovationskolleg Stadtklima Potsdam

Hermann Voesgen / Innovationskolleg Stadtklima Potsdam

RITUALE DER BETEILIGUNG – DIE LUST AM AUSBRUCH. KANN PARTIZIPATION SMART SEIN? Die smarten Technologien verändern nicht nur die Infrastruktur der Städte, sondern auch die Lebensweisen. In der Moderne prägte die „autogerechte Stadt“ das Verhältnis von öffentlichen und privaten Räumen, die Verbindungen bzw. Trennungen von Funktionen, das  Tempo, die Stadtwahrnehmungen und Beteiligung am Stadtleben. Die...
Jutta M. Bott / Innovationskolleg Stadtklima Potsdam

Jutta M. Bott / Innovationskolleg Stadtklima Potsdam

LUST UND FRUST VON VERANTWORTUNG UND KONTINUITÄT – ODER WIE MODERN IST DER MENSCH IN SELBST GEWÄHLTEN GEMEINSCHAFTEN? In einer digital bestimmten Welt erwarten wir schnelle, jederzeit abrufbare Informationen, Verabredungsmöglichkeiten und ein hohes Maß an Flexibilität auch im Kontakt mit anderen Menschen. Wie ist das aber mit der „Schnelllebigkeit“, wenn Menschen zu versorgen sind, Verantwortung...
Birgit Katharine Seemann / Fachbereich Kultur und Museum, Landeshauptstadt Potsdam

Birgit Katharine Seemann / Fachbereich Kultur und Museum, Landeshauptstadt Potsdam

DIE STADT ALS BÜHNE. Viele Städte in Europa driften auseinander. Fragmentierungen und Binnenspaltungen führen zum Verlust städtischer Integrationskraft. Damit einher geht die partielle Entfremdung der Bewohner und Bewohnerinnen von ihrer Stadt, ihrem urbanen Raum. Intervenierende Aktionen – Performances, Flashmobs, Videospaziergänge, Open-Air-Installationen – rücken die Beziehungen zwischen sozialen, physischen und künstlerisch-medialen Elementen ins Bewusstsein und werfen...
Hans-Christoph Hobohm / Innovationskolleg Stadtklima Potsdam

Hans-Christoph Hobohm / Innovationskolleg Stadtklima Potsdam

DIE REGION BERLIN-POTSDAM ALS “INFORMATIONELLE STADT” Der Vortrag untersucht, inwieweit die Region Berlin-Potsdam als “informationelle Stadt” anzusehen ist. Hierzu werden die Städte Singapur und Melbourne als Vergleichsfolie genutzt und die klassischen Indikatoren dazu dargestellt. Das Konzept der informationellen Städte lässt sich hinsichtlich seiner politischen und wirtschaftlichen Umsetzung innerhalb der Hauptstadtregion nur bedingt verorten, obwohl die...
Knud Schulz / Urban Mediaspace Aarhus

Knud Schulz / Urban Mediaspace Aarhus

THE LIBRARY AS UNITING FACTOR IN A SOCIETY OF CHANGE. Die moderne Bibliothek hat sich entwickelt von einer reinen Buch-Ablage hin zu einem Ort, der die Bedürfnisse der Bürger widerspiegelt und unterstützt. An diesem Ort kann Stadt-Geschichte um neue Erzählstränge erweitert werden, in denen es um die Bildung von „Communities“ und das Teilen von Wissen...
Nathalie Vallet / Universität Antwerpen

Nathalie Vallet / Universität Antwerpen

INFORMATIONAL CITIES AND CITY INNOVATION: (RE)DEFINING THE STRATEGIC FOOTPRINT OF PUBLIC LIBRARIES. Auf der Basis explorativer Fallstudien wird die sich verändernde strategische Rolle von neun, in urbanen Netzwerken eingebetteten öffentlichen Bibliotheken, deren Ziel die Unterstützung flämischer und niederländischer Städte in ihrer zukünftigen Entwicklung und Innovationsfähigkeit ist, beschrieben und klassifiziert. Obgleich die Theorie der „City of...